About us
from garage shop to prestigious garden business

1965
service
showroom
showroom
showroom

It was in rural Terlanen (a hamlet near Overijse) that René Van Eyck set up a business for garden machines back in 1965. He sold his first machines working very modestly from a tiny garage that served both as shop front and workshop. His initial stock consisted of 3 lawnmowers made by Flandria. At the time, René still had a job in a payroll department and it was his wife, Frida, who ran the business in the daytime. It didn’t take long, though, before the local farmers and market-gardeners were beating a path to René’s door for their horticultural equipment. The range was also quickly expanded to include Gutbrod rotary cultivators and small garden tractors.

By 1967, René was working 100% for himself and to boost the image and awareness of his company, he decided to attend a local trade fair. And that’s where everything almost went up in smoke - literally! A fire destroyed almost all of the machines on display (virtually their entire stock).

But René and Frida were not dismayed and dealt with the problem like true entrepreneurs. The business began to flourish and expansion was soon on the horizon. The first major investment decision that had to be taken was to look for larger premises. Should they stay in Terlanen, or should they move to Overijse and take advantage of its more strategic location? In 1968, the company set up shop in Overijse, in a new building (shop, workshop and adjoining house) right alongside the busy Waversesteenweg, which at the time was still being used as the motorway between Brussels and Namur - although the term ‘motorway’ didn’t yet exist.

The firm continued to grow, both in terms of staff and product range. It was the dawn of the golden years. Gardens were becoming an extension of the house and people were planting lovely green lawns and bright flower beds. Every family was buying a lawnmower or ride-on. Landscape designers were coming to the fore, but at the same time, competition was rising, too. The company continued to invest in order to remain the local number 1 in the business: in addition to garden machinery, it began selling garden furniture and all sorts of garden accessories to go with it. The business premises were growing as well, with a new extension built on every 4 to 5 years.

René also began looking across the national borders and in conjunction with four of his counterparts who were running similar businesses in other provinces of Belgium, he established a company called Immacover to import machines direct from Italy (BTS, Eurosystems, etc.).

In the 1990s, at a time when N.V. Van Eyck was generating a more than serious turnover and had gained a place in the Top Trends 30,000, René’s sons joined the company to strengthen the management side. Walter lost his job in the private sector in 1992 and since then has spent the past twelve-and-a-half years in the business, handling the day-to-day management of the company and dealing with the shop. Dirk joined the business in 1996, taking on responsibility for the import side of the business from the outset. More than ten makes of machinery, including Caravaggi wood-chippers (Italy), Masport lawnmowers (New Zealand) and Grasboy hedge-trimmers and lawn scarifiers (Japan), are distributed exclusively for Belgium through a wide network of dealers.

Today, V-PRO (Van Eyck N.V.) is known locally as an established value that supplies quality products and delivers outstanding after-sales service. V-PRO is also a main distributor for garden machinery produced by Stihl, Honda, Toro, Husqvarna, Belrobotics, Pellenc and Kubota.

With a total of 10 employees (technical, administrative, maintenance and sales), Van Eyck aims to grow still further. This is demonstrated by the recent extension works that have created a totally refurbished 1000 m2 showroom - which is 40% larger than it was previously. The company is also proud of its ambition to continue playing the role of a leading garden business in the Druivenstreek.

Notre firme
une entreprise au service de votre jardin

1965
service
showroom
showroom
showroom

Nous sommes en 1965 à Terlanen, un hameau situé dans la campagne d’Overijse. René Van Eyck lance sa petite affaire en machines de jardin. Les débuts sont fort modestes : c’est dans un garage qui servait à la fois d’atelier et de magasin, qu’il vend ses premières machines. Le stock se composait en tout et pour tout de 3 tondeuses à gazon de la marque Flandria. A l’époque, René travaillait encore comme salarié pour un patron. C’est Frida, son épouse, qui gérait l’affaire en journée. Rapidement, les fermiers et serristes locaux se sont intéressés à ce nouveau commerce en matériel de jardin. La gamme s’enrichit bien vite avec des fraises Gutbrod et des petits tracteurs de jardin.

En 1967, René s’installe à 100% à son compte. Afin de renforcer l’image de marque et d’accroître la notoriété de son entreprise, il décide de participer à une foire commerciale locale. Les choses faillirent mal se passer ! Un incendie détruisit en effet la quasi-totalité des machines exposées (ce qui représentait pratiquement tout le stock).

Mais René et Frida ne restent pas les bras croisés et réagissent en véritables chefs d’entreprise. Leur affaire commence à bien marcher. Il faut penser à l’agrandir. Et prendre la première décision d’investissement importante : rechercher un emplacement plus grand à Terlanen ou déménager à Overijse qui jouit d’une implantation plus stratégique. En 1968, la société prend ses quartiers à Overijse dans un bâtiment neuf (magasin avec atelier et maison contiguë), à deux pas de la très fréquentée Chaussée de Wavre (qui servait encore à l’époque d’autoroute avant la lettre entre Bruxelles et Namur).

La société se développa tant au niveau de l’effectif du personnel que sur le plan de la gamme de produits. Les années d’or s’annonçaient. Le jardin devient en effet le prolongement de la maison et de plus en plus de gens décident d’aménager une pelouse avec des parterres de fleurs. Chaque famille s’achète une tondeuse à gazon ou un petit tracteur. Les architectes de jardin font leur apparition mais la concurrence augmente elle aussi. Pour rester le n°1 de la région, des investissements sont réalisés sans discontinuer : outre les machines de jardin, l’établissement vend désormais des meubles de jardin ainsi que du petit matériel de jardinage. Et le bâtiment prend de plus en plus d’ampleur. Tous les 4 à 5 ans, une annexe est construite.

On commence également à s’intéresser à l’étranger. En compagnie de quatre collègues qui géraient une affaire semblable dans d’autres provinces, René met sur pied la société Immacover qui importe en direct des machines d’Italie (BTS – Eurosystems - ...).

Dans le courant des années ’90, lorsque la S.A. Van Eyck réalise un chiffre d’affaires considérable et décroche une place dans le célèbre Top Tendances 30.000, les fils de la famille viennent renforcer l’équipe de management. En 1992, Walter perd son emploi dans le secteur privé. Depuis douze ans déjà, il s’occupe de la gérance et de la gestion quotidienne de la société et du magasin. Dirk commence à travailler pour l’affaire familiale en 1996. Il est responsable de la partie importation. Des produits de plus de dix marques parmi lesquels les broyeurs Caravaggi (Italie), les tondeuses à gazon Masport (Nouvelle-Zélande) ainsi que les taille-haie et débroussailleuses Grasboy (Japon) sont commercialisés en exclusivité en Belgique par le biais d’un réseau de distributeurs étendu.

A l’heure actuelle la société V-PRO (Van Eyck S.A.) est réputée dans la région. Il s’agit d’une valeur ancrée qui propose des produits de qualité et offre un excellent service après-vente. V-PRO est notamment distributeur principal de machines de jardin Stihl, Honda, Toro, Husqvarna, Belrobotics, Pellenc et Kubota.

Forte d’un effectif de 10 personnes (technique, administration, entretien et vente), l’entreprise ambitionne de se développer davantage encore. En témoignent les récents travaux d’extension qui ont permis d’aménager un showroom entièrement rénové de 1.000 m², soit 40% plus grand que par le passé. L’entreprise peut se targuer d’un excellent développement. A l’avenir, cette prestigieuse maison spécialisée dans les articles de jardin, continuera assurément à jouer un rôle de premier plan dans la région viticole d'Overijse.